Feasibility of a two “stacked” multivariate normal model?

Hi Stan community,

I’m just getting into Stan modeling, and really appreciate all the great documentation.

I’m hoping to conduct a meta-analysis for N data items each with k regression coefficients \hat{\beta_n}, s.e. of beta \hat{s_n}. C is the correlation matrix of error, which at this point I’m assuming is given.

I currently have a “stacked” multivariate normal model, and was hoping if I could get some feedback into the fitting and speeding this thing up.

My data generating process is the following,

\mu_n\sim N(0,1)
\tau_k \sim \textsf{Gamma}(2, 0.1)
\Omega \sim \textsf{LKJCorr}(2)
\Sigma = \texttt{diag}\mathtt{\_}\texttt{matrix}(\tau) \times \Omega \times \texttt{diag}\mathtt{\_}\texttt{matrix}(\tau)
\beta_n\sim N(\vec{1}*\mu_n, \Sigma)
\widehat{\beta_n}\sim N(\beta_n, V_n)
V_n = \texttt{diag}\mathtt{\_}\texttt{matrix}(\hat{s_{n}}) \times C \times \texttt{diag}\mathtt{\_}\texttt{matrix}(\hat{s_n})

The primary latent parameter of interest is the base mean for each row, \mu_n.

After reading through the documentation, my current implementation of this model in stan is the following.
two_mult_normal.stan (1.3 KB)

data {
  int<lower=0> N; // number of data items
  int<lower=0> K; //number of features
  vector[K] beta_hat[N]; // measured effects
  vector<lower=0>[K] s_hat[N]; // standard error of effects
  matrix[K,K] c_beta; // correlation matrix of errors across features
}

transformed data{
  cholesky_factor_cov[K] L_v[N];  // cholesky factorized, covariance of error of effects for each row
  cholesky_factor_corr[K] cholesky_c_beta; 
  matrix<lower=1,upper=1>[N,K] one_mat; // matrix of ones

cholesky_c_beta = cholesky_decompose(c_beta); // cholesky factorized, correlation matrix of error of effects

for(n in 1:N){
    L_v[n] = diag_pre_multiply(s_hat[n], cholesky_c_beta); // convert to row-wise covariance matrix for error of effects
  }

one_mat = rep_matrix(1,N,K);
}

parameters {