Efficient code to sum two dependent random variables

Hello,

I’m a novice to stan and have now gone through a couple iterations of coding to try to make things run faster. I’ve narrowed the bottleneck to a single routine that calculates the sum of two dependent random variables. I originally coded this routine with the integrate_1d function, then with the integrate_ode_rk45 function, but neither of these worked (errors from boost, presumably). The function I need to implement is:

f_C(t_C|t_O)=\int_m^{t_C}f_O(t_O)f_D(t_C-t_O|t_O)dt_O

So, I’ve implemented methods to use discrete approximations instead of integrate functions. The code runs now and gets reasonable answers, but the gradient evaluation is slow. Using only 1/4 of the dataset, I get the following time estimate:

Gradient evaluation took 0.987295 seconds

Ok, I’m trying to improve on that. I’m hoping there is a more efficient way to implement the code that is causing the bottleneck. It involves two nested for loops. I haven’t figured out how to “vectorize” or “matricize” these to use built-in vector and / or matrix operations due to the dependence of the D random variable on the O random variable. Each iteration requires the D value (i.e., t_C-t_O) to be updated based on the O value in order not to violate this dependence. Assuming independence results in significant inaccuracies. For this implementation, the random variables O and D are scaled and translated beta-distributed, although they don’t need to be.

Below is the stan code that implements this bottle-necking function. If someone would be willing to have a look and point out any ways this code could be made more efficient (computationally speaking), I would be very grateful.

array[] real fC_discretized(real m, real M, array[] real ps_fO, real sD1, real sD2, array[] real xs) {
                int n = size(ps_fO);
                if(n != size(xs)) {
                        reject("Number of fO bins doesn't match that of xs in fC");