Dot products of vectors to perform 1D convolution

(I feel slightly embarrassed with this question, as I feel I’m probably just missing something stupid as I’m quite new to defining everything in STAN syntax directly, so my apologies in advance. If there’s someplace that there are a bunch of examples involving doing a bunch of manipulation of data in STAN syntax someplace where I might be able to get some pointers, I’d be very appreciative of the tip.)

I’m trying to write a function for performing 1D convolution of two curves for fitting of specific pharmacokinetic models where I need the interpolation over the sampled time points. In R, I usually use an FFT, but in STAN I’ll just have to resort to doing it in a for-loop. I’ve written a function for it, and it seems to compile fine, but I run into an error as soon as I try to execute it.

(I’m going to get the linear interpolation done outside of this function using Torsten’s linear_interpolation(), so by the time the curves arrive here, they should be interpolated so that they are equally spaced and measured at the same time on their x (time) axes. (Speaking of which, is there an equivalent of the seq() function in R? Otherwise, I’ll get back to that later…)).

R

So here could be some example input data (in R)

a <- c(0:10, 9:0)
b <- c( rep(0,5), rep(1,11), rep(0, 5))
nPoints = length(a)

Here’s how I can do it in the for loop in R

r_manual_convolve <- function(a, b, stepsize) {

out <- rep(0, length(a))

for(i in 1:length(a)) {
    out[i] <- sum( a[1:i] * b[i:1] )
  }
  return(out) 
}

r_manual_convolve(a, b, 1)

STAN

So here’s how I’ve tried to get the same function working in STAN syntax

functions {
vector stan_convolve(int nPoints, vector a,  vector b,  real stepsize) {

vector [nPoints] out;

for(i in 1:nPoints) {

vector [i] a_vec;
    vector [i] b_vec;
    vector [i] abprod;

a_vec = a[1:i];
    b_vec = b[i:1];

abprod = a_vec .* b_vec;

out[i] = sum ( abprod );
  }

return(out);

}
}
data{}
model{}