Derivatives of kernel with respect to columns of X

Hey everybody, hopefully easier question than it seems (to me)!

I’m looking for a way of obtaining the derivatives of a kernel with respect to columns of the input X. As I understand it, I could “easily” get the derivatives of the kernel with respect to all inputs X_ij, resulting in a matrix (NxN)x(NxN), being X a matrix NxD. The derivatives I need are a matrix with shape NxNxD instead. Maybe I overlooked some simple rule to get the derivative of the columns based on the derivatives of all X_ij? Nonetheless, I’m very new to Stan internals and it’s the first time going down to C++ to code something with Stan::math (haven’t had the need so far), so I’m surely missing some functionality of the math library.

So far as a temporary solution I have just coded the derivatives by hand for the squared exponential kernel, but if I want to scale to other kernels it’s probably easier to just use autodiff (if possible of course).

Any suggestion appreciated, maybe @charlesm93 knows something? (I know you were working with derivatives of kernels during the summer). Thanks!

Alex

1 Like

In C++ or in a Stan program?

In Stan, we almost always wind up with a single log density, so never explicitly have to express a Jacobian in any of our calculations—they can remain implicit in the backward pass of autodiff where we do an adjoint-Jacobian product then increment the adjoints of the operands to a function. So you usually want to code that adjoint-Jacobian efficiently rather than creating the whole Jacobian. For example, if we have a N x N matrix inverse, the Jacobian is size O(N^4), but we can compute the entire adjoint-Jacobian product in O(N^3).

1 Like

Thanks for the answer. I’m doing it in C++ do I can lift the function to R and use it from other places, hope this helps in clarifying the question.

But what do you want to do with it. Do you literally need the full Jacobian?