Current Metropolis proposal is often rejected

Hi! I am new to cmdstanr and I am trying to use this package to fit my age-stratified seroprevalence data to a simple catalytic model exploiting the beta_binomial_lpmf function. However, when I run the code, the following error appears multiple times, as the beta_binomial_lpmf sometimes gives negative value, which should not be happening given my priors. I am not sure what is causing the problem then.

Informational Message: The current Metropolis proposal is about to be rejected because of the following issue:
Chain 3 Exception: beta_binomial_lpmf: First prior sample size parameter is -0.482536, but must be positive finite! (line 49, column 3 to column 60)
Chain 3 If this warning occurs sporadically, such as for highly constrained variable types like covariance matrices, then the sampler is fine, but if this warning occurs often then your model may be either severely ill-conditioned or misspecified.

The stan code I am currently using is the following one.

// sero-catalytic model

data {

int<lower=0> N_AgeG; // number of age groups
  real age[N_AgeG]; // age mid-point
  int N[N_AgeG]; // N individuals per age group 
  int NPos[N_AgeG]; // N positive per age group

}

parameters {

real <lower=0> lambda; //FOI
  real <lower=0> phi; // overdispersion

}

transformed parameters {

vector[N_AgeG] z; //seroprevalence
  vector[N_AgeG] a; // standard argument a of the beta function
  vector[N_AgeG] b; // standard argument b of the beta function

for(k in 1:N_AgeG) {

z[k] = (1-exp(-lambda*age[k])); //seroprevalence

a[k] = z[k] * ((1/phi)- 1); //prob success
    b[k] = (1 - z[k]) * ((1/phi) - 1); //prob failure

}

}

model {

lambda ~  normal(0.1, 0.1); //prior
  phi ~  exponential(10);// overdispersion

// model

for(k in 1:N_AgeG){

target += beta_binomial_lpmf(NPos[k] | N[k], a[k], b[k]); 

}

}

• CmdStan Version: cmdstan-2.31.0

Hello,