Cruising the simplex

Hi there,

I am relatively new to Stan, which I’m getting to like more and more. It’s the best code I’ve seen around and the manual is just wonderful.

I’m trying to implement the “Cruising the simplex” approach by Michael Betancourt:

but I’m having trouble coding it.

Could any body share a working example written in Stan? I have also looked into the alternatives offered in the manual, but I’m not yet experienced enough to implement those either. Any example using those too, will be most helpful.

I’m using a simplex to describe the weights of to be applied to a set of predictions to fit some data. The standard approach on simple, small datasets works fine, but I’m trying to speed up the process as eventually I will explore ~6000 weights.

I’ve looked into the QR parametrisation also, but since I need to impose a positivity constrain, this does not seem to be the optimal solution.

I’d appreciate any suggestion or example you can provide.

Thanks!

1 Like

The method in that paper turns out to be mathematically equivalent to the stick breaking method used in Stan. In other words, when you write

parameters {
  simplex[N] theta;
}

then behind the scenes Stan already uses the transformations described in that paper!

2 Likes

Thanks a lot for your prompt reply Michael. This is very useful to know.

I have a problem like this:

data {
int<lower=0> npix;
int<lower=0> nssp;
vector[npix] spec_obs;
vector[npix] sigma_obs;
matrix[npix,nssp] ssp;
}
parameters {
real zero_pt;
simplex[nssp] weights;
}

model {
vector[npix] ssp_model;
vector[nssp] alpha = rep_vector(1.0,nssp);

// Dirichlet priors for the weights and normal prior for the zero_pt
weights ~ dirichlet(alpha);
zero_pt ~ normal(0.0,1.0);

// Building the bestfit model
ssp_model = zero_pt + ssp*weights;

// Inference
spec_obs ~ normal(ssp_model,sigma_obs);
}

spec_obs is normalised to have mean of 1, ans ssp[:,i] have also mean of 1.