Continuous(?) mixing model examples

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to stan, my work focuses on chemical mixing models where we want to e.g. estimate the contributions of different sources to pollutants present in a given sample based on tracers with uncertain endmember data. An example of such a model is this: https://agupubs.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1002/2014GC005683

I’m wondering if one of you can point me to examples where such mixing models have been implemented in stan that I could use as a starting point.

thanks, Lukas

Hi Lukas,

After a bit of searching I couldn’t personally find anything, though someone else might know of some examples in Stan. I skimmed the paper you linked though and I think I understand the general model. It seems like the idea is that you have measurements of different pollutants, where each measurement for a given pollutant is modeled as being drawn from a normal distribution centered on mean \mu = \sum_{k} p_k\mu_k , where k is the number of sources of a particular pollutant, p_k is the proportion of total pollutant coming from that source and \mu_k is the average amount of pollutant from source k. If I am misunderstanding the model you are talking about, then please ignore the rest of this post. If it sounds right though, then if only considering a single pollutant, a very simple stan model for estimating p_k assuming that \mu_k are known (e.g., the sample means from the source, ignoring sample variance for now; more on that later), a simple Stan model might look something like:

// Simple isotope mixing model

data {
  int<lower=0> N; // Number of observations from mixture distribution
  vector[N] y; // Measurements from mixture
  int<lower=1> k; // Number of sources of isotopes
  vector[k] mus; // Sample means from each source
  vector[k] alpha; // Dirichlet prior
}

parameters {
  simplex[k] ps; // Mixing proportions
  real<lower=0> sigma; // Mixture distribution variance
}

transformed parameters{