Continued compiling problems rstan 2.21.2 with R 4.0.3 and rtools40 (windows)

Dear all,

I love Bayes & Stan immensely, and thank you for you work. This is my first time posting. Before I begin, let me say I’ve read and tried everything in the related threads by @bgoodri including the further problems experience and solved by @Antoine and @kartermycroft.

I had the same situation as @Antoine : updated to R 4.0.3, rtools40 and RStudio 1.3.1093, and then my models (including simple simulated ones to test this) would take a loooong time to compile and gave the same error (see below). My OS is Windows 10 Enterprise 2016 LTSB. I’m trying to run models through brms, but had the same problems using McElreath’s rethinking package.

Warning message:
In system(paste(CXX, ARGS), ignore.stdout = TRUE, ignore.stderr = TRUE) :
  'C:/rtools40/usr/mingw_/bin/g++' not found 

I followed @bgoodri’s detailed advice in the other threads, updating my Makevars.win. See below (I don’t think the incomplete final line is a problem?)

writeLines(readLines("C:/Program Files/R/R-4.0.3/src/library/windlgs/src/Makevars.win"))
CXX14FLAGS += -mtune=native -march=native -Wno-ignored-attributes -Wno-deprecated-declarations
CXX14 = C:\Rtools\mingw64\bin\g++ -m$(WIN)
Warning message:
In readLines("C:/Program Files/R/R-4.0.3/src/library/windlgs/src/Makevars.win") :
  incomplete final line found on 'C:/Program Files/R/R-4.0.3/src/library/windlgs/src/Makevars.win'

Notice above that my Makevars.win doesn’t live in a ~/.R folder (my computer doesn’t seem to have one of those).

I also tried simply deleting Makevars.win, and also, given that my rtools40 does not have have a mingw_ folder (it has a mingw32 and mingw64 folder), creating a copy of the mingw64 folder named mingw_; that didn’t change anything.