Compiling error for 8schools example, MacOS Mojative

Hi all,

This is my first time using Rstan, I followed the instruction from https://github.com/stan-dev/rstan/wiki/RStan-Getting-Started to install it. When I try to compile the 8schools example in Rstudio, it returns an error which shows below:

Error in compileCode(f, code, language = language, verbose = verbose) :
Compilation ERROR, function(s)/method(s) not created! In file included from file146ec754c9e8c.cpp:8:
In file included from /Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/3.5/Resources/library/StanHeaders/include/src/stan/model/model_header.hpp:4:
In file included from /Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/3.5/Resources/library/StanHeaders/include/stan/math.hpp:4:
In file included from /Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/3.5/Resources/library/StanHeaders/include/stan/math/rev/mat.hpp:4:
In file included from /Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/3.5/Resources/library/StanHeaders/include/stan/math/rev/core.hpp:4:
In file included from /Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/3.5/Resources/library/StanHeaders/include/stan/math/rev/core/autodiffstackstorage.hpp:4:
In file included from /Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/3.5/Resources/library/StanHeaders/include/stan/math/memory/stack_alloc.hpp:8:
In file included from /usr/local/clang4/bin/…/include/c++/v1/cstdlib:86:
In addition: Warning message:
In system(cmd, intern = !verbose) :
running command ‘/Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Resources/bin/R CMD SHLIB file146ec754c9e8c.cpp 2> file146ec754c9e8c.cpp.err.txt’ had status 1
Error in sink(type = “output”) : invalid connection

Can anyone help me with that?

R version: 3.5.3
Rstuido version: 1.2.1330
Rstan version: 2.18.2

Thanks in advance!

Yize

What is the string surrounding the word error: (with the colon) when doing

stancode <- 'data {real y_mean;} parameters {real y;} model {y ~ normal(y_mean,1);}'
mod <- stan_model(model_code = stancode, verbose = TRUE)

Hi bgoodri,