Categorical Model is taking really long for estimation

Hi All (@Bob_Carpenter ),

I am very new to Stan. I am planning to estimate the following model. There are three types of datasets (Version_1, Version_2, Version_3). At the first level, the following linear regression models are estimated for latent variable “att”:-

• Version_1 uses X_lk as predictors
  • Version_2 uses X_lk as predictors
  • Version_3 uses X_oe as predictors

I have re-parameterized “att” and estimated “y_att”

Using the estimated values of “y_att”, a multinomial logit model is estimated for the choice “y”. The choice variable has 3 levels. I have tried to vectorise all the levels, except the last one for

"for (n in 1:N)
    y[n] ~ categorical(softmax(alpha + beta_att * y_att[n]' + beta_sd * X_sd[n]')); // likelihood"

All the steps prior to this is estimated very quickly. With the inclusion of the above choice model, the estimation takes days to complete.

My dataset contains 14261 observations, # of predictors (D_lk-100, D_oe-34, D_sd-55). # of MCMC iterations-3000, # of warm-ups-600. I am running 4 chains

Is there a way to reduce the estimation time? Furthermore, are there any suggestions on improving my code further?

Any suggestions and help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

data {

int<lower=0> N;                         // Number of observations
     int<lower=0> D_lk;                      // Number of predictors for Version_1 of the dataset
     int<lower=0> D_oe;                      // Number of predictors for Version_3 of the dataset
     int<lower=0> D_sd;                      // Number of predictors for sd
     int<lower=0> C;                         // Number of classes
     matrix[N,D_lk] X_lk;                    // Predictor matrix for Version_1 of the dataset
     matrix[N,D_oe] X_oe;                    // Predictor matrix for Version_3 of the dataset
     matrix[N,D_sd] X_sd;                    // Predictor matrix for sd