Can't run rstan

R version 3.5.2 (2018-12-20) – “Eggshell Igloo”
Platform: x86_64-w64-mingw32/x64 (64-bit)

RTools version: Rtools version 3.4.0.1964

Rstan version: rstan (Version 2.18.2, GitRev: 2e1f913d3ca3)

Initial path entries: PATH=c:\programFiles\R\Rtools\bin;c:\programfiles\R\Rtools\mingw_64\bin; …

I’m running the same versions of R in the same folders on two Win7 machines.
On one, where I’m not an administrator, I can successfully run rstan on
the 8schools example. On the other, where I am an administrator,
I get the following error:

fit ← stan(file=“8schools.stan”,
data=schools_data,
iter=1000, chains=4)

Error in file(con, “r”) : cannot open the connection
In addition: Warning messages:
1: In system(cmd, intern = !verbose) :
running command ‘C:/ProgramFiles/RNew/R-3.5.2/bin/x64/R CMD SHLIB filee485fe91fd7.cpp 2> filee485fe91fd7.cpp.err.txt’ had status 65535
2: In file(con, “r”) :
cannot open file ‘filee485fe91fd7.cpp.err.txt’: No such file or directory
Error in sink(type = “output”) : invalid connection

(Both run from rgui.exe in R’s x64 folder). One thing I’ve noticed
is that on the second (problem) machine, I get the following response
to a test for RTools:

pkgbuild::has_build_tools(debug=TRUE)
Scanning R CMD config CC…
cc_path:
‘.exe’ does not exist
Scanning path…
ls: c:\PROGRA~4\R\Rtools\bin\ls.exe
gcc_path: c:\PROGRA~4\R\Rtools\mingw_64\bin\gcc.exe
VERSION.txt
Rtools version 3.4.0.1964
Version: 3.4
Found compatible gcc on path
[1] TRUE

while on the working system, it finds a cc_path, which
however, matches the gcc_path entry above (so a gcc seems
to be found).

Can anyone suggest what’s going wrong when I try to
run rstan on 8schools? Or failing that, what I could
to to get more information on what’s happening?
Could it be an issue with write permissions on the
disk?

I think the problem may be from one of two reasons I encountered: