Calculating correlation between intercepts and slope magnitude

Hi everyone,

I’m still fairly new to brms and Bayesian statistics. My question is about intercept-slope correlations as well as slope-slope correlations in brms. I repeatedly measured activity levels and risk-taking behaviour in animals over 8 experimental days. A simplified version of my dataset is as follows:

ID      MASS       DAY      ACTIVITY      RISK
1       0.7         1          25          41
2       0.9         1         106          22
3       0.6         1          81          37
1       0.7         2          41          68
2       0.9         2          93          36
3       0.6         2          57          11

I am interested in:

1. Seeing if more active individuals are more “behaviourally plastic” (i.e. have steeper slopes) than less active individuals.
  2. Whether individuals that are more “behaviourally plastic” (i.e. have steeper slopes) in their activity are also more behaviourally plastic in their risk-taking behaviour.

I have set my model out as follows:

ACTIVITY <- bf(ACTIVITY ~ MASS + DAY + (DAY|a|ID) , family = gaussian)
RISK <- bf(RISK ~ MASS + DAY + (DAY|a|ID) , family = gaussian)

Model<- brm(ACTIVITY + RISK + set_rescor(FALSE),
                          data = dat,
                          cores = 4,
                          chains = 4,
                          warmup = 1000,
                          iter = 10000)