Calcualte VIF?

Hi! I am quite new to Bayesian statistics and I am having quite a hard time for understanding how to deal with collinearity between parameters.

Is there a way I can calculate collinearity between my regressors as you would with VIF or an equivalence test?

I have a model with random effects and multiple categorical regressors with two levels each (0/1):

Outcome ~ Categorical1 + Categorical2 + Categorical3 + (1|person)

Is there a way I can get around this in a Bayesian setup?
And any advice on how to solve multicollinearity?

Very much appreciated your help in advance.

3 Likes

I’m gonna go ahead and tag @avehtari and @andrewgelman on this, as they can provide much more complete answers than I could.

1 Like

What is VIF?

I guess it’s the Variance inflation factor.

1 Like

Yes, VIF as Variance Inflation Factor.

You should be able to just fit this model directly in rstanarm or brms.

Sorry, I might not have expressed myself properly…
I have run such models in brms, and for some of them I have up to 100-200 binary \beta_{categorical} parameters.

I have done the test for practical equivalence using the package bayestestR to check whether my parameter values should be accepted or rejected against the null hypothesis (whether or not the HDI region of the posterior distribution of my parameters falls within a ROPE region).

I got warnings about possible multicollinearity between some of my parameters. And the problem is that then I should not trust the results because multicollinearity may shift the distributions towards or away from the ROPE.

How can I estimate properly if there is inflation in my models due to these correlations? Which threshold between pairwise correlations should I consider as intolerable (i.e. > 0.9)?

Should I reconsider my model design? And perform a univariate analysis instead?