Build tool - make vs?

Hey,

I think I remember @sakrejda mentioning in a Stan meeting that he was working on a cmake version of Stan (not sure which repo this was, maybe math?). Is that still going on? I’ve been wondering how difficult it would be to switch to a more modern system in the hopes of speeding builds up and doing incremental builds safely more often (esp. for testing). I’ve heard Bazel highly recommended by people, though they typically have had some Google affiliation in their past. I have no personal experience with any of the C++ options outside of make so curious what others think.

Thanks,
Sean

1 Like

The issue here is user-friendliness – the current make system has been specialized sufficiently well that it works out of the box for most systems we encounter, but we’ve had no end of trouble with tools like cmake. If we can find something that works better than make, works out of the box on Linux, Mac, and Windows, and we’re willing to translate the current build configuration over then I think most of us would be receptive.

I did get cmake working in a few different contexts but once I was done with it it turns out I needed some command-line invocations in there to get the protocol buffers and Stan models build. The error messages are terrible (it’s an auto-generated make-file so… :/ )

I will give Bazel a shot at some point but I tried make/cmake/R’s remake and one of the Python-based tools and all of them have weird stuff embedded. For straight C++ I’d go with Bazel or cmake but Stan isn’t straight c++ (we sometimes auto-generate c++). Maybe going by the Bazel protobuf scripts we could do it right in that system but I haven’t had time to push it.

K

1 Like

Others have also tried to port our makefiles to cmake and eventually gave up.

My own experience installing third party software is that cmake almost always fails in cryptic ways. Whereas makefiles usually work for me.