Brms on supercluster (MPI)

• Operating System: “Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server 7.2 (Maipo)”
  • brms Version: 2.9.0
  • rstan version: 2.19.2

Recently I have been working on what are essentially generalized additive models (GAMs), initially using mgcv. However, for both computational and principled reasons I would like to move to a Bayesian framework. I am still pretty new to both GAMs and Bayesian inference, so specifying a GAM directly in rstan is beyond me, at least for now. I have therefore been using the amazing brms package to do things like this (reduced version):

Family: exponential
Links: mu = log
Formula: eeg06 ~ s(relright, k = 20) + s(relleft, k = 20)
Data: subset(eeg, select = c(deps[d], "relright", "relle (Number of observations: 5266)

However, it has quickly become clear that running these analyses on my office pc is not feasible: even a considerably reduced model takes about 4 days to run. I do have access to a supercluster, but my initial attempts don’t do much better.

From what I can find, the newest version of RStan supports MPI parallelization. My question is: does brms make use of this automagically (i.e., I cannot achieve any further performance gains)? And if not, can I set up brms for this? Or will I need to invoke rstan directly/‘manually’ to use the MPI features?

I would be most grateful for any guidance you can provide on this.

Joost Meekes

brm() has a future argument, that if set to TRUE will use the future package for parallelization. The future package appears to have support for MPI (makeClusterMPI), so that should provide an easy way to achieve this, though I’ve never tried.

2 Likes

Anecdotally, I’ve noticed much faster performance with GAMs in brms by specifying a smaller k. Unlike mgcv which “finds” a reasonable k, I don’t believe we expect brms to do the same. So it’s somewhat akin to passing a lot of linear predictors (in your case at least 40).