Better way of modelling stick-breaking process?

Hello,

I just started learning Stan so forgive me if this is asinine but I wrote the following program to model a stick-breaking process:

data {
	int<lower=0> N;
	int<lower=0> M;
	real<lower=0, upper=1> y[N,M];
}
parameters {
	real<lower=0> a;
	real<lower=0, upper=1> b[N,M];
}
transformed parameters {
	real<lower=0, upper=1> B[N,M];
	B = b;
	for (i in 1:N)
		for (j in 1:M)
			for (k in 1:j-1)
				B[i,j] *= 1 - b[i,k];
}
model {
		b[i] ~ beta(1, a);
			y[i,j] - B[i,j] ~ normal(0, 0.001);
}

Originally I simply wanted to write y = B; in the model section but I realized that wasn’t allowed so I instead constrained their difference with a very tight normal. It works pretty well but I can’t help but feel this is some kind of hack.

I’m also getting the following warning from the compiler, further contributing to my sense of unease:

Warning (non-fatal):
Left-hand side of sampling statement (~) may contain a non-linear transform of a parameter or local variable.
If it does, you need to include a target += statement with the log absolute determinant of the Jacobian of the transform.
Left-hand-side of sampling statement:
    (y[i, j] - B[i, j]) ~ normal(...)

Here is a link to the Mathematica notebook file with all of my results and reports from the sampler:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1kasphL57WAFAwIikaH-C4SCaiQNMC81E

Thanks for any input.
-Marcos

Why do you want to model a stick-breaking process? It’s built into our simplex data type when you do this:

simplex[K] theta;

That makes sure that theta[k] > 0 for all k in 1:K and makes sure sum(theta) = 1. It works under the hood as a stick-breaking process as outlined in the manual.

Sorry nobody answered this before, but you’re absolutely right. You do not want to be using this kind of hack.

As it should be. You have a non-linear transform on the left-hand side of a sampling statement, which is exactly what this warning is supposed to be doing!