Beginner request for reparameterization help

Hi,

I am hoping for your advice reparametrizing my first model.

I am trying to find means and variances of dozens of (presumed-)normal distributions that would best explain a large collection of survey-response data points. Omitting indices, names etc., the model looks as follows:

model {
  // main relationship; ABC are pieces of known data,
  // WXYZ are parameters I'd like to find

A + C - B * ((X - Y) / Z) ~ normal(0, W)    // in - out = error

// hyperpriors on WXYZ -- exact numbers don't matter

W ~ inv_gamma(10, 50)
  X ~ normal(70, 30)
  Y ~ normal(70, 40)
  Z ~ inv_gamma(40, 1000)
}

Stan warns me that a Jacobian adjustment may be necessary. It will sample away
and finish within seconds but, perhaps unsurprisingly, outputs garbage; the values may as well have been picked at random (they do agree well with the priors but the data points don’t do at all what they’re supposed to).

This is my first time writing a Stan model, and I’m stuck trying to find a nice way to transform that first left-hand side into something which I can come up with a reasonable Jacobian adjustment for.

I would be grateful if some old hand could give me advice on how to best approach this. You don’t need to do my homework for me, but any pointers to where to start would be helpful.

The trick is to to get the parameters on the other side of the tilde.

A + C ~ normal(B * ((X - Y) /  Z), W) // in = out + error ?

Thank you @stijn, I appreciate your help. Moving the parameters over to the mean silences the error, but the results don’t change.

This is surprising because I’m working with simulated data right now – my X values are drawn from a normal with known parameters, and so are the Y, Z and W arrays which distort them according to the formula above. (That’s why I know my priors so well, haha!) – I therefore would expect Stan to get me back, roughly, my initial parameters. Am I wrong in assuming that should be possible?