Bad diagnostics with multilevel models

Hi there,
I’m new to Bayesian statistics and so I really appreciate the easy to use and very flexible brms package - thanks a lot!
Right now I’m trying to fit general logistic growth curves (cell population ratio in percentage) for about 500 patients with about 3-7 measurement points each. Single level/ no Pool fits do work fine, but the diagnostic values look bad for my multilevel models (Rhat >> 1.05, Bulk and Tail ESS << 10%, MSCE, MCMC plots don’t converge, divergent transitions over 99% …).
I already tried to

1. increase maximum treedepth(18) and adapt_delta (0.999)
  2. create and vary initial value lists (see Salomon Kurz “Don’t forget your inits”)
  3. use more informative priors (especially with data subsets s. 5a)
  4. increase iter (up to 200.000 in each of four chains)
  5. data wrangling
    a) only including patients with a > 95% ratio at 30 days
    b) excluding data with decreasing points
    c) standardize, normalize
    d) divide values by max for each patient and setting upper asymptote to one (d = 1)
    → only to variable analysis
  6. work with simulated data (trying various numbers of individuals and measurements per patient)
  7. try different formulas (Weibull, Gompertz, …)

… but with all these procedures I still get bad diagnostics. Except for one data subset of 30 patients with very similar data structure (see 5 a) increasing to 100%, having > 4 measurements and an early turning point and high slope).
I want to get a robust multilevel model for as many patients as possible.

What am I missing/ what can I try to improve?
Am I stuck in the funnel of multilevel models and may it be helpful to try a centered model ?

Here are my simulated data … you can very the number of patients and individuals within 30 days.
In my real data frame patients have at least 3 measurements.

library(tidyverse)
library(truncnorm)

d_bar <- 99.5 # mean value of upper asymptote
  e_bar <- 15   # -"- turning point