Any guidance for how to use Stan math library autodiff? (new to C++)

I am working on implementing a HMC-within-Gibbs algorithm for a model I am working on** and am coding it using R and C++ (via Rcpp). For the HMC part I started off using numerical differentiation to calculate the gradients and then implemented autodiff using the C++ “autodiff” library (GitHub - autodiff/autodiff: automatic differentiation made easier for C++) as this seemed like the easiest one to use (i’m new to C++). However I’ve only found it to be ~2x faster than numerical diff and was hoping for a bigger speed-up. So I am looking at trying some other autodiff libraries like the Stan math library to see if they will be faster.

I was wondering what would I need to do to convert my function (below) for use with Stan math libraries’ autodiff?

are there any good guides out there for how to go about this for someone new to C++?

@rok_cesnovar @andrjohns

**Context - it’s a multivariate probit latent class model and I got into this by noticing that Stan is quite inefficient at sampling models like this which involve data augmentation (i.e. creating latent continuous data from the observed ordinal or binary data).

I first just focused on binary outcomes and implemented a Gibbs sampler - with an Metropolis-Hastings (MH) step for sampling the correlation matrices based on a method from a paper from Liu and Daniels (not a random-walk proposal).