AB testing with lognormal distributed data

Hi! I’m hoping for some advice, as I’m new to this :)
I have some data which I believe is distributed lognormally. I’m using a normal prior for the mean, and a cauchy prior for the standard deviation. I’m performing AB testing and calculating two values: the probability that the mean of the B variant is greater than the mean of the A variant, and the lift that I could expect if I chose the B variant. Unfortunately, I can’t share the data. The Stan code is as follows:

data {
    real mu_prior;
    real sigma_prior;

int<lower=0> control_n;
    vector<lower=0>[control_n] revA;

int<lower=0> var_n;
    vector<lower=0>[var_n] revB;
}

parameters {
  real muA;
  real<lower=0>sigmaA;
  real muB;
  real<lower=0>sigmaB;
}

model {  
  muA ~ normal(mu_prior, 2);
  sigmaA ~ cauchy(sigma_prior, 3); 
  muB ~ normal(mu_prior, 2);
  sigmaB ~ cauchy(sigma_prior, 3);

revA ~ lognormal(muA, sigmaA);
  revB ~ lognormal(muB, sigmaB);
}

generated quantities {
//difference in means is the quantity of interest
  real mu_diff;
  real post_revenue_a;
  real post_revenue_b;
  real revenue_diff;

mu_diff = muB - muA;
  post_revenue_a = lognormal_rng(muA, sigmaA);
  post_revenue_b = lognormal_rng(muB, sigmaB);
  revenue_diff = post_revenue_b - post_revenue_a;
  }

Sometimes, I get high probability that variant B has higher mean than variant A, but a negative average of the revenue_diff term. Does this make sense?

1 Like