Simple question on sampling slow-down after centering predictor variables

Hi there,

I’m a rookie, and my background is in biology, not statistics. I’ve gotten a great deal of help from a friend writing a mark-recapture model that I’m running with the rstan interface. The response variable is probability of survival. I’m starting to add covariates, and experimenting with how various transformations improve or fail to improve model fit. I think the most relevant components of the model to my question are:

data{
  int N;
  int nFish; //n fish ID
  int nStn;
  int fish[N]; //fish ID
  int stn[N];
  int seen[N];
  int last[N];
  int n_release; // number of releases
  int n_releaseCovar; //number of release covariates
  int releaseID[nFish];
  matrix[n_release, n_releaseCovar] releaseCovar; // release-level covariate matrix, each row corresponds to different release, each column is a release-level covariate
}

parameters{
  vector<lower = 0, upper = 1>[nStn] detect;
  vector[nStn] base_survival; // survival is for the reach preceding stn i
  vector[n_releaseCovar] beta_release;
}

transformed parameters{
  vector[nStn] full_survival[nFish]; // full Survival is indexed by fish
  vector[nStn] chi[nFish];

for(i in 1:nFish){
	full_survival[i] = inv_logit(base_survival + releaseCovar[releaseID[i]]*beta_release); 
	chi[i] = prob_uncaptured(nStn, detect, full_survival[i,2:]);
  }
}

model{
  // Generic priors 
//  target += normal_lpdf(beta_reach | 0, 1);
//  target += normal_lpdf(beta_fish | 0 , 0.5); // broadened prior from 0, 0.2
  target += normal_lpdf(beta_release | 0 , 10); // broadened prior from 0, 0.2
  target += normal_lpdf(base_survival | 0, 0.75);
  target += normal_lpdf(detect | 0.85, 0.35); // added prior for detect

// model
  for (n in 1:N){
	if(stn[n] != 1){
	// at stn #1 p detection and survival = 1
	  target += bernoulli_lpmf(seen[n] | detect[stn[n]]);
	  target += bernoulli_lpmf(1 | full_survival[fish[n], stn[n]]);
	}
	if (last[n])