Question about the stats grad students/PhD job market

Me and my boss are considering to applying for a local grant for using Bayes in bioinformatics (especially gene regulation), including hiring full-time PhD students and/or postdocs. However, I have zero experience with the job market and my boss has experience on the bio side of the market but not on the stats/data science/computer science side. We know that “local supply” is quite limited. Do you have some experience how hard it is to get international PhD students or postdocs in stats/data science/computer science?

We are located in Prague, Czech Republic (EU) and can offer around EUR 1000/month for a PhD student and EUR 1500 / month for postdocs. The living expense in Prague are IMHO slightly lower than other big cities in the EU (~ EUR 250 to rent a room, ~ EUR 550 to rent a small flat). Would you expect us to have trouble attracting international candidates? (Obviously, if we receive the funding and then are unable to hire good people, we are in trouble :-)

Thanks for any ideas/experiences.

You mean hiring the students or postdocs in the regular way and this is the topic they work on? Then you’d know better than we would how that goes where you’re at.

Or are you going to be trying to hire someone else’s Ph.D. students or postdocs? Usually, they’re pretty busy other than over summers, where they typically can get very sweet internships at places like Google (more than they can make as postdocs in the U.S.).

The job market for people who can do stats and computer science has gotten to the point that it’s very hard to attract people to university jobs anywhere at the rates universities let us pay. We’ve been trying to hire postdocs for several multiples of what you’re trying to pay and still finding it difficult with the industrial competition.