Very slow multilevel model

Hi,

I am fitting a multilevel model to a collection of J curves with total N data points. I have a group level predictor grp_level_x for each of the J curves.
And I am fitting the following functional form:
y = (A*((x-B)/(100-B))^(-n))

The following stan code runs very slow and I am unable to run it long enough to see if this works. I had implemented an unpooled version before and that gave me reasonable results so now I was trying to get a multilevel model working. I am relatively new to stan so any help is appreciated. Thanks,

data {

int<lower=4> N;
  int<lower=0> J;
  vector[N] y;
  vector[N] x;
  int curveId[N];
  vector[J] grp_level_x;
}
transformed data{

}
parameters {
   vector<lower = 0.25,upper=5>[J] n;
   vector<lower=0>[J] A;
   vector[J] B;
   real<lower=0> eps;

// B model
   real alpha_B;
   real beta_B;
   real<lower=0> eps_B;

// n model
   real alpha_n;
   real beta_n;
   real<lower=0> eps_n;

// A model
   real alpha_A;
   real beta_A;
   real<lower=0> eps_A;
}
transformed parameters {

}
model {

vector[N] y_hat;

for (i in 1:N){
    y_hat[i] = (A[curveId[i]]*((x[i] - B[curveId[i]])/(100. - B[curveId[i]]))^(-n[curveId[i]]));
  }

for (j in 1:J){
      B[j] ~ lognormal(alpha_B + beta_B*grp_level_x[j],eps_B);
      n[j] ~ lognormal(alpha_n + beta_n*grp_level_x[j],eps_n)T[0.25,10];
      A[j] ~ lognormal(alpha_A + beta_A*grp_level_x[j],eps_A);
  }
  y ~ normal(y_hat,eps);
}

First off, add priors for eps_*, alpha_*, and beta_*. If you don’t know anything else, just do normal(0.0, approrpriate_guess_of_scale).

If this doesn’t work, and since your simple models work, what I’d do is:

1. Just do J independent fits in one model and see if it works. Something like:
      B[j] ~ normal(0.0, 2.0);
      n[j] ~ normal(0.0, 2.0);
      A[j] ~ normal(0.0, 2.0);
  }

Or whatever your prior was in the original fits. I think lognormals are kinda heavy-tailed, so if you just need a zero avoiding prior, maybe switch to a gamma?