Using joint probability distribution for the prior distribution

Hi, i’m fairly new to stan and need some help constructing my prior.

I’ve created a model for an enzymatic reaction E+S <-> ES -> P+ E which has reaction rates kf,kr,kcat ( My parameters which i have declared in the parameter block).
Most of the stan code is similar to the lotka volterra example (http://mc-stan.org/users/documentation/case-studies/lotka-volterra-predator-prey.html).

For the prior i want to code the joint distribution p_{kf,kr,kcat} (x,y,z) = p_kf (x)*p_km ((y+z)/x)*p_kcat (z) .

(N.B. Km = (kr+kcat)/kf is the Michaelis constant ). x,y,z are the random variables

Each of p_kf , p_km , p_kcat follow a known distribution (in stan) e.g. lognormal so p_kf (x) ~ lognormal(mu,sigma)

How do i code this? Is this possibly? I assume you need to use a user defined function but i couldn’t find any mention for multiple variables.

I would appreciate any help and let me know if it isn’t clear enough. I haven’t included any code because i don’t see how it would help but let me know if it would.

Just make k_m a parameter, and let k_r be a transformed parameter. That way you can just put whatever prior you want on k_m and then k_r will just be whatever it will be (put dollars around stuff to use \LaTeX math).

It looks like the way you wrote your joint prior k_f, k_m, and k_{cat} are independent.

So would this work?

parameters {
  real kf;
  real km;
  real kcat;
}

transformed parameters {
  real kr = km * kf - kcat;
}

model {
  kf ~ log_normal(...);
  km ~ log_normal(...);
  kcat ~ log_normal(...);

//...
}

Presumably there are constraints on the k values to keep them positive since these are reaction networks or whatever? I dunno.