Statistics on random numbers in model block

Hi,
I am new to Stan and recently tried to make a model in which I tried to fit both the mean and standard deviation for let’s say a linear relationship with y = 2x+5. For each x, I have a mean(y) and a sd(y) in my dataset (but not the original measurements!). My idea was to fit a model by doing a simulation step in “model” which might look like this:

real y_pred[5000];
for (j in 1:5000) {
y_pred[j] = normal_rng(ymean,sigma);
}

Then, my mean(y) would be represented by mean(y_pred) and my sd(y) by sd(y_pred)… However, the random number generators can’t be used in the model block. Is there a way to do this?

Thank you in advance
Max

what are the unknowns here? what is the data. you need to give us more details.

suppose you have x measured multiple times, and y measured multiple times for each x, but you only have access to mean(y) and sd(y) for each x… the 2 and 5 are unknown, call them a,b

y[i] ~ normal(a*x[i]+b,sdy[i])

if you’re doing something else, then really we need more info.

Sorry for the insufficient information. The problem is slightly more complex, I am actually thinking about data that is modeled via differential equations and parameters that are linked to y in a non-trivial way. Therefore, I would like to implement a Monte Carlo integration step which generates y_pred based on a number of combined random variables. Let’s say it’s a system of linear differential equations with 6 parameters and data (y) is the mean and variance of the area under the first moment curve with respect to two differential equations. No closed-form solution exists and I would therefore use Monte Carlo integration to find the expected value/variance. Is this clearer?

In the end, the question is whether a Monte Carlo integration step can be modeled in the model block, whereas the resulting quantity can be treated as deterministic.

Presumably your problem is that your model looks something like