Spatio-Temporal Model

I’m very new in Stan, i implemented the CAR model
http://mc-stan.org/users/documentation/case-studies/mbjoseph-CARStan.html.
Now i want to implement a temporal car model,it’s even possible in stan?

1 Like

Short answer:

Yes, probably. If you can write down a probability model and your posterior is smooth (i.e. no discrete parameters or thresholds that cause the log-posterior to “jump”), then Stan is probably one of the best ways to fit your model currently available.

Longer answer:

Depends what you mean exactly. If you want to translate the case study to a pure time-series model, the only thing that changes fundamentally is the neighborhood structure. If (as your title suggests) you want to extend this spatial model to include a time dimension, you can probably include the time-dimension neighborhood structure, but you will want to carefully consider how your “neighbors” relate in space vs. in time.

What would the model be? (In maths, or a reference, or BUGS code etc)

2 Likes

I would like to implement a simple car temporal model ( the explanation in the uploaded image) with an AR(1) for temporal trend.

model

Stan requires a joint density, so to code this up, you will want to rewrite these element-wise univariate conditional priors as multivariate normal priors over vectors, e.g., for a model with a temporal AR1 / IAR spatial field:

Where \phi_t is a vector with one element per spatial unit, \tau is a precision parameter, D is a diagonal matrix, and W is an adjacency matrix (for more info on IAR models: http://mc-stan.org/users/documentation/case-studies/icar_stan.html).

1 Like

So if i have to write this, can i do

for(i in 2:T)
phi[i,t]=multi_normal_prec(phi[i,t-1],variance)

My point is :can i use this “for” implementation?