Practice makes perfect [Beginners How to...]

Hi there, I am relatively new to Bayesian Statistics and decided to use Stan for a current project. The first step is to learn how to model with Stan, for this I intend to translate a working OpenBUGS script (hierarchical model) to Stan and gain comparable results.

Intro
I am an experienced R user but modeling in Stan is quite different. I learned R partly by just trying; writing code and compare the outcome of the code to what I expected the outcome to be.

Problem
When writing a Stan script it seems I can only run a full model and not really observe what my code is doing at intermediate steps.

( Example
I have variable Y in a long format data.frame and I want to use it as a matrix (Y_ij).
R code: matrix(df$Y, nrow = i, ncol = j, byrow=T) # Note in this case: byrow = T (default is F)
Stan: matrix Y[i,j] // does this fill the matrix by row or by column? )

Question
Is there a way to see if the Stan code is actually doing what I think that it is doing? Iā€™d rather learn by trying than endless searching for the mechanics on google / manual / forum.

I understand Stan is (much) like C++, is it a good idea to use some C++ program to see what the (simple) code is doing in Stan? If so; any advice for what to use, maybe something comparable to Rstudio? (I run Ubuntu 16.04)

4 Likes

Basically, no. Because Stan code is translated into C++ and then compiled, there is no opportunity to proceed one line at a time. There are some things you can do. One is to put print statements into your code, such as

print("x is ", x);

in which case it will send that line to the screen. However, it does so every time the log-posterior kernel function is evaluated (if you put the print statement in the transformed parameters or model block), in which case you are going to get thousands of such lines each with a different value of x.