Mix of rounded and non rounded observation

Hi everyone,

I’m new at Stan and bayesian modeling.
I want to fit a linear mixed model on a dataset containing repeated measurements of multiple items by different systems.
I want to compute an estimation of the correct measure of each item taking into account biais and deviation of the different systems.
My problem is that the different systems give result with (very) different rounding policy and I would like to take into account this information in my model.
I found this discussion (https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/stan-users/KIH26xC_3UM) about incorporating rounding in Stan but I’m wondering if there is a way to mix rounded and non rounded observation in the same model.

I’m wondering if there is a way to mix rounded and non rounded observation in the same model.

Yeah, but you probably want to first start by building models that estimate your parameter from each system. There’s a section in the manual “Rounding” (page 204 in version 2.16) that has some info on how you might do this. It’s a little bit manual.

Once you think your estimates for each thing are reasonable, then you can just make it hierarchical (so they’ll inform each other).

Something like:

model {
  theta ~ normal(0, 1);
  tau ~ normal(0, 1);
  sigma ~ normal(0, 1);
  mu ~ normal(theta, tau);
  measurements1 ~ normal(mu[1], sigma[1]);
  measurements2 ~ normal(mu[2], sigma[2]);
}

The hope in such a model is that tau in this tells you about the scale of the difference in accuracies of both experiments and the sigmas tell you about the precision.

Just keep in mind the relative volumes of data you have for each method. That’ll be important in interpreting the results.

Check out: Hierarchical Partial Pooling for Repeated Binary Trials and you might also Google around for the 8-schools model (it’s in BDA3, and there’s probably a discussion of it sitting around somewhere)