Hierarchical multi-logit regression

Hi,

I am a newbie trying to use STAN for a very specific problem.

Has anyone tried to code a hierarchical multi-logit regression??? I am in marketing and am doing Conjoint Analysis. I was given some legacy WinBugs codes by my employer, but I am trying to switch to STAN.

I am following Examples 8.6 and 8.9 from the user manual and hoping to combine and modify those STAN codes. But I find myself having to declare a 3-dimensional matrix for the beta coefficients - for all the possible choice outcomes (K), for all the attributes (D), and for all the people (L).

parameters {
matrix [K,D] mu;
matrix [K,D] sigma;
matrix [K, D, L] beta;
}

My questions are:

1. Is 3-dimensional matrix even allowed in STAN?
  2. The manual seems to suggest that an array of vectors is more efficient than matrices. But I don’t know how to express a 3-dim matrix as an array of vectors…

Sorry if my questions are too basic. Any help is appreciated.

Cheers~

1 Like

There is no such thing as a three-dimensional matrix in Stan where a matrix is defined in the linear algebra sense. You can, however, have a set (called an array in Stan) of L matrices that each have K rows and D columns. To do so, write

parameters {
  matrix[K,D] mu;
  matrix<lower=0>[K,D] sigma; // impose the constraint
  matrix[K,D] beta[L];
}

The beta object can be accessed (almost) like a list of KxD matrices in R, except that you just use single brackets (as in beta[1]) rather than double brackets (like beta[[1]]) to access the matrix for the first person in the data.

However, you need to keep in mind that in multinomial logit, it is conventional to restrict one column of beta[i] to be all zeros, so really everything would be declared with D - 1 columns. Also, in a hierarchical model, you probably want to use a non-centered re-parameterization of the normal prior, but we can get to that after you have something running with your parameterization.