Rstan error: Mismatched array dimensions.Base type mismatch. Returned expression does not match return type LHS type = real; RHS type = real[ , ] Improper return in body of function

Hi,

This is my first time using Stan in R for HMC and I encountered the error “Mismatched array dimensions. Base type mismatch. Returned expression does not match return type LHS type = real; RHS type = real[ , ] Improper return in body of function.”, which showed at the first line of my second function MUPPpr when I try to build my own model functions to fit data. My full Stan code for my model is shown below:

functions{
  real SSpr(vector a, vector b,vector t, int n_student, int n_item, int n_dimension){

real num0[n_student, n_item];
    real num1[n_student, n_item];
    real denominator[n_student, n_item];
    real sspr[n_student, n_item];
    real thdim[n_student, n_item];
    real th[n_student, n_dimension];
    int d[n_item];

return sspr;
  }

Can anyone help me with this error? Thanks!

this is a 2-d array of reals, but your function return type is scalar real.
it shoulds be real [ , ].

I formatted your program for readability. I tried to get just the first function to compile, but there are mistakes at lines 20,21 with respect to your use of the exp function.

are you trying to adopt something written for BUGS or JAGS to Stan? there’s a section in the Stan user’s manual which addresses the differences. Stan User’s Guide
there’s a lot of other good stuff in the manual too.

Hi,

Thank you for your help. Two questions: (1) should I add a [,] to the return line after the ‘return’ or other lines? (2) does stan have the build-in exp function or not?
I wrote the codes specifically to use Stan and I thought this is the Stan code format cause I followed the blocks section in the user guide.
Thank you!

1. the error message location - line 1 - indicates that the problem is at line 1 - the function signature. as written -
real SSpr(vector a, vector
^^^^