Crash Data Analysis with Fully Bayes on R

Hi,
I am fairly new to using R. Currently, I am trying to estimate posterior crash counts based on prior crash data using Fully Bayes on R. In my data, I have before and after periods crash counts, and additional information on related independent variables for both the before and after periods. I have previously predicted the prior crash frequency based on random effect negative binomial and a screenshot of the sample code is also attached here. As you will see, the first chunk of the code is working fine within “#ORT Random effects for Full Bayes”. However, the posterior estimation is where I am having trouble implementing.

Please help me with the code to estimate the posterior crash counts. Thank you so much for all your help.

Best
Meghna

I think the last line should be

post <- stan_glm.nb(RENB_Total ~ LN_AADT + offset(Ln_Miles) + TollRoad_After2, 
                    data = data)

but it does not let the intercepts vary. It also works to do

post <- stan_glmer(RENB_Total ~ LN_AADT + offset(Ln_Miles) + TollRoad_After2 + 
                   (1 | OBJECTID), family = neg_binomial2, data = data)
2 Likes

Thank you so much! This was extremely helpful. However, I was a little confused about which data to consider in the second part. I mean, I used the before period crash count (Total_Before), and toll road information (TollRoad_Before2) in the before period to develop the random effect negative binomial model (RENB_Total). Now in the posterior model, should I use that, and toll road information (TollRoad_After2) in the after period? Or should I use the observed crash count in the after period ((Total_After) as the dependent variable in the posterior model?