Converting ElasticNet ML model to Stan

I have logistic regression ML model with originally about 40 correlating features and with ElasticNet I have reduced the amount of relevant features down to seven.

I am new in Bayesian modeling and I thought this project could be a good tech trial to study Stan. As I am new in Bayesian modeling, I lack of cut feeling on what to expect and I hope this community could give me some insight.

Some questions:

1. I expected that the peak values of variable distributions I’m getting from Stan would be about same as the coefficients from ElasticNet logistic regression. However that is not the case. For some variables the the difference on distribution peak value and ML coefficient is about 2x. The distributions are not skewed, they are roughly normal. Is this “normal” behavior?

2. can I use the value I get from ElasticNet as a prior? E.g. Normal distribution with mu = value from ElasticNet

3. What is the best practice to do feature screening in Bayesian modeling? Shall I put all my 40 features into the model, or only the screened seven?

When you say ML, do you mean maximum likelihood?

ElasticNet can refer to any linear combination of L1 (lasso) and L2 (ridge) penalties. These have different Bayesian equivalents - typically, the Laplace and normal prior respectively. Can you clarify how you fit your ElasticNet model?

There are a few different viewpoints for Bayesian regularized regression. I believe the Tibshirani book on sparse statistical methods contains a summary of a few approaches. To answer your questions point by point:

1. Most ElasticNet implementations standardize the inputs to the model. Are you following identical standardization procedures to the ElasticNet implementation you’re using? This could affect coefficient magnitude; also, assuming you set your priors in the usual way, this standardization of covariates is a requirement for the regularization to work properly.