Trouble recreating the stan_glm for Gamma with Inverse Link

Hi all! I’m relatively new to rstan, and for an Epidemiology project I need to run a Bayesian Gamma regression, with inverse link. I have gotten it to work already within the rstanarm library, but I tried to recreate it myself to understand it better and to get used to the stan language; and I’ve had some issues.

Just to clarify what the inverse link entails, we have y \sim Gamma(\alpha, \beta), with \alpha being the shape parameter, and \beta the rate. The inverse link is \mu^{-1} = \beta_0 + \beta_1 x_1 + \beta_2 x_2 = \eta. If we reparametrize with \mu = \alpha / \beta, we can write y \sim Gamma(\alpha, \eta\alpha).

My issue is as follows: because both shape and rate need to be strictly positive, the linear predictor \eta should also be positive. Despite running the below code (constraining it to be positive), I run into lots of divergent transitions (like, hundreds) and chains that are all over the place.

In r:

# Simulate some data
x1 <- 1:150
x2 <- x1^2
b <- c(0, 0.05, -0.00001)
eta <- (b[1] + b[2] * x1 + b[3] * x2)
y <- rgamma(150, shape = 0.7, rate = 0.7 * eta)

With stan:

data {
  int<lower=0> N;
  vector<lower=0>[N] y;
  vector[N] x1;
  vector[N] x2;
}

parameters {
  real b0;
  real b1;
  real b2;
  real<lower=0.001,upper=100 > shape;
}

transformed parameters{
  vector<lower=0>[N] eta; // linear predictor
  eta = b0 + b1 * x1 + b2 * x2;
}

model {
  b0 ~ normal(0, 50);
  b1 ~ normal(0, 50);
  b2 ~ normal(0, 50);
  shape ~ uniform(0.01, 50);
  for(i in 1:N){
      y[i] ~ gamma(shape, shape * eta[i]); 
  }
}

My viewer is full messages such as:
Rejecting initial value:
Error evaluating the log probability at the initial value.
Exception: validate transformed params: eta[1] is -3.50457, but must be greater than or equal to 0 (in ‘model865c2a234c78_gamm’ at line 18)