Speeding up hierarchical HMM

Hi all,
I am relatively new to Stan and hierarchical modeling so forgive me for asking any dumb questions!
I am trying to implement a hierarchical version of a model of associative memory from the 60s (https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/6d5d/6c726ab8d67dfd721e81aba8ccc5fcf44a67.pdf). Subjects study pairs of words (one in english and one in german) in a particular schedule of study opportunities and have to recall the english word after being cued by the german word at a later test time. The model is essentially a continuous-time HMM where subjects transition between three different memory states that have different probabilities of recall at test time. While the transition dynamics occur throughout the experiment (while the subjects are studying and forgetting the words) the only observable emission of the model (in this version of it) is at the later test time where the subject either recalls the word or not.