Some papers: Stan models for Australian Rules Football, Monotonic polynomials, and Exercise-induced pulmonary haemorrhage

I’m not very good at this whole self promotion thing, but I thought I might make use of this publicity tag to write a little about a few recent Stan models / papers I’ve worked on.

Australian Rules Football

The first is a model for both match prediction and the rating of offensive and defensive abilities of Australian Rules Football teams. Dynamic (time varying) team ability models are are reasonably popular for Association Football, but the higher scoring (and fundamentally different) nature of Australian Rules means the models require some adaptation.

Manderson, A.A., Murray, K. and Turlach, B.A. (2018). Dynamic Bayesian forecasting of AFL match results using the Skellam distribution, Australian & New Zealand Journal of Statistics. Doi: 10.1111/anzs.12225

Monotonic polynomials

We implemented a parameterisation for monotonic polynomials that my supervisor had previously considered. The Stan implementation was preferable, as it was able to fit higher degree polynomials (things get pretty correlated for sufficiently high degree polynomials, especially when the usual QR decomposition is not immediately applicable). The paper just deals with a single set of (x, y) data, but I also extended the parameterisation, in a hierarchical manner, to fit many similar sets of (x, y) here (which is in my recently submitted Masters thesis, and might make its way onto a blog post someday).

Manderson, A.A., Cripps, E., Murray, K. and Turlach, B.A. (2017). Monotone polynomials using BUGS and Stan, Australian & New Zealand Journal of Statistics 59(4): 353–370. Doi: 10.1111/anzs.12207

Exercise-induced pulmonary haemorrhage