Running model in a HPC and would like to save intermediate outputs

Dear stan users:

I am using Rstan to run a relatively complex model in a cluster. I initially set the wall times to be 8 hours but after 8 hours of waiting, my job got killed and I looked into the log file the job was only 40% complete and exceeded the set wall time.

Gradient evaluation took 0.05 seconds
1000 transitions using 10 leapfrog steps per transition would take 500 seconds.
Adjust your expectations accordingly!

Iteration: 1 / 500 [ 0%] (Warmup)
Iteration: 50 / 500 [ 10%] (Warmup)
Iteration: 100 / 500 [ 20%] (Warmup)
Iteration: 150 / 500 [ 30%] (Warmup)
Iteration: 200 / 500 [ 40%] (Warmup)
=>> PBS: job killed: walltime 28836 exceeded limit 28800

My model runs 2000 iterations with 500 warmup per chain for 4 chains and I would like to know are there any ways that I can
a) save the first 40% of the simulation outputs?
b) perhaps speed up the programme?

I am very new to HPC and stuff, any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

I have attached my Rscript, stan code and pbs file in this post.

Thanks in advance,
Jaslene2_comp_full_classical.r (756 Bytes)
full_state_space_true_classical.stan (5.5 KB)
2_comp_full_classical.txt (274 Bytes)

Note that you can set the sample_file parameter and your samples will be streamed to a file (e.g. even when the computation is interrupted, all/most samples will be stored). You can then use read_stan_csv to read this file in R.

As for the speed - very often problems in speed indicate problems with the model. However anything is hard to debug at this scale. Have you tested the model with small-scale data you created by simulating the exact model you have implemented? (e.g. draw the parameters from their priors and then generate some data) Did the model recover the parameters you draw from the simulation?

Also there might be room for vectorization, e.g.:

for(t in 1:TD){
   lambda[t,1] = inv_logit(eta[t]); // if define lambda is a matrix[tt,2]