Need help building a two-stage model (beginner)

I’m trying to model several teams competing in a group tournament. I’m fairly new to Stan, and I’m struggling to understand how to build a model beyond simple examples I could find.

Given: number of points won by each team by the end of the tournament (one point for win).
Estimate: relative strength of teams.

This is what I’ve got so far (using rstan package):

stan(
	model_code = "
		data {
			int num_teams;
			int points[num_teams];
		}

transformed data {
			int outcome[num_teams, num_teams];
		}

parameters {
			vector[num_teams] strength;
		}

model {
			strength ~ normal(0, 1);

for (i in 1:num_teams) {
				for (j in 1:num_teams) {
					outcome[i, j] ~ bernoulli_logit(strength[i] - strength[j]);
				}
			}

points[i] = 0;

if (i != j) points[i] = points[i] + outcome[i, j]
				}
			}
		}
	",
	data = list(
		num_teams = 4,
		points = c(6, 4, 2, 0)
	)
)

I’m getting this error message:

SYNTAX ERROR, MESSAGE(S) FROM PARSER:

Cannot assign to variable outside of declaration block; left-hand-side variable origin=data
  error in 'model2294209945cd_ded447960a469e2e3ca50ae670299991' at line 25, column 27
  -------------------------------------------------
    23: 
    24: 			for (i in 1:num_teams) {
    25: 				points[i] = 0;
                                  ^
    26: 
  -------------------------------------------------

PARSER EXPECTED: <expression assignable to left-hand side>
Error in stanc(file = file, model_code = model_code, model_name = model_name,  : 
  failed to parse Stan model 'ded447960a469e2e3ca50ae670299991' due to the above error.

Looks like I cannot assign values to whatever comes from data block. But how should I go about building this model then?

Could someone nudge me in the right direction, please?

maybe try:

points[i] = 0;
       if (i != j) {
          points[i] = points[i] + outcome[i, j];
       }
    }
}