Mixture Model with joint probability

Hi,

I am very new to stan and I am trying to program a mixture model with joint probability for a clustering/classification of data.
I have two data sets (descriptors), distances and angles, and I am trying read in both and consider both to find classes in my data points.

For now I have a model which uses one data set and calculates classes, but I have no idea how to manage it, to include both datasets into it.

My code:

data {
int         K;  // number classes
int         N;  // number of data points
vector[N]   y;
}
parameters{
vector <lower=0, upper=16>  [K] means;
vector<lower=0>[K]  sigma;
simplex [K] weights;
}
model{
  for (n in 1:N) {
    vector [K] tmp;
    for (k in 1:K) {
        tmp[k] = log(weights[k]) + normal_lpdf(y[n] | means[k], sigma[k]);
    }
    target += log_sum_exp (tmp);
  }
}

I would appreciate any help!

Looks like you’ll need to make y an array of N 2-vectors like this:

vector[2] y[N];

Your means will be a K-length array of 2-vectors:

vector[2] y[K];

Your sigma will be a K-length array of covariance matrices

matrix[2,2] sigma[K];

Then you can use a the multivariate normal in place of your normal_lpdf, and you will need to estimate a covariance matrix instead of just a s.d… Instead of just jumping into that you might want to code up fitting a simple multivariate normal to some data so you get all the syntax down.
There’s also a nice section in the manual on optimizing the MVN and what priors to use.

Hope that helps.

Krzysztof

1 Like

thank you very much! I am going to try this, hopefully I get it right

So I don’t know if I understand this, just ‘replacing’ the vectors and the normal_lpdf is not sufficient?

data {
int         K;  // number classes
int         N;  // number of all data points
vector[2] y[N];
}
parameters{
vector[2] means[K];
matrix[2,2] sigma[K];
simplex [K] weights;
}
model{
  for (n in 1:N) {
    vector [K] tmp;
    for (k in 1:K) {