Mixture formula of discrete and continuous distributions

Hi, I’m a beginner of Stan, and facing the following problem.
I want to set alpha[i] to inv_gamma(a, b) or just 1 depending on the probability theta, i.e.,
alpha[i] ~ inv_gamma(a, b) (with the probability theta) or
= 1 (with the probability 1-theta),
but I don’t know how to implement.
According to Chap.12.7 in the manual, there seems to be no possible method, but do you know any suitable methods ?
I would be happy if you give me some advice.
Here, alpha is a latent parameter and I don’t have direct data on it, so it is difficult to implement … If you need additional information, please let me know.
Actually, at first, I tried introducing another latent integer parameter, but I noticed it is impossible in Stan, and my question arose on the course of marginalization.

You cannot assign the result of inv_gamma to anything. One of the many things you need to know about Stan before attempting to write anything in the Stan language is that the model block just builds up a log-kernel of the posterior PDF with target += statements or almost equivalently statements involving a ~. But I think what you are saying may be equivalent to a mixture model where alpha has an inverse gamma prior with probability theta and is fixed to 1 otherwise. In that case, you are going to have to use the log_mix function to handle the two possibilities.

Thank you very much for your reply. I didn’t understand how to use log_mix function. Now I write the following, and my code starts sampling.
target += log_mix(theta, inv_gamma_lpdf(alpha[i] | a, b), alpha[i] == 1);
Would it mean that alpha[i] = 1 with probability 1 - theta ?

Think of it as having two posterior distributions, one where theta is positive and another where theta is exactly 1. Then build the log-kernel separately in target_1 and target_2 respectively. Then target += log_mix(theta, target_1, target_2);.