Loo package

Hello everyone! I am new in statistic and have an issue with loo package usage.
Particularly, after model implementation in stan, I wanted to use loo package to check
the predictive performance of my model.
the problem is estimated elpd and lpd are very large, for example, elpd is -19708 with
248.5 standard error.
Does it mean that model is not accurate or I can use this model?
all k-pareto values are good less than 0.5

Thanks in advance

The elpd is primarily intended to compare with other models for the same outcome variable. If you have a lot of data, the elpd can be very large in absolute magnitude but may be bigger or smaller than the elpd of another model.

Thank you!
I was worried about that because the estimated effective number of predictors p_loo was more than 500 which is impossible in my dataset and SE was large.
Thanks again

The estimator of p_loo can be flaky (it is supposed to be improved in 2.0) but that doesn’t mean there is necessarily anything wrong with the elpd.

Ok!

Yes, these are reasons to be worried. Usually impossible p_loo values and large SE are associated with high k values or error in log_lik computation. Since you had all k<0.5, I would suspect error in your code. Could you tell more about your data and model? For example how many observations n and what model and likelihood? If you can show your model code, it would be easiest to check that there is nothing suspicious there.

Sure, probably there are mistakes in my code. I believe I failed in log_lik description.
I have 4000 observations, 6 predictors including 5 categorical and one continuous variables.
The model is logistic regression with binomial distribution, and I took binomial as likelihood.
the model code is as follow:

data {
int N;// number of observations
int n[N];//trials
int y[N];//successes
int M;
matrix[N,M] x;//predictor matrix
}
parameters {
vector[M] Beta;
real sigma;//between-observation variance
real gamma[N];//random effect

}