Issues with inference in infinite factor model

I implemented a minimal version of ADVI in TensorFlow (I’m aware of Edward but I needed something a bit more low-level):

http://www.jmlr.org/papers/volume18/16-107/16-107.pdf

The implementation passes basic tests but I wanted to check on a more involved model by comparing my inference results to Stan’s ADVI and NUTS ones.

I considered the IFM of Bhattacharya and Dunson:

http://people.ee.duke.edu/~lcarin/BhattacharyaDunson.pdf

The results from Stan are off, for instance the covariance matrix omega is not recovered in a 10-dimensional case (I generate the data) and as I am a complete beginner in Stan programming I blame this entirely on some implementation mistake. Further evidence of this is that Stan’s ADVI and NUTS inference results shows some level of agreement.

Follow my implementation:

data {
    int<lower=0> N;
    int<lower=0> P;
    int<lower=0> H;
    vector[P]    y[N];
}
parameters {
    real<lower=0>         a1;
    real<lower=0>         a2;
    vector<lower=0>[H]    delta;
    matrix<lower=0>[P, H] phi;
    matrix[P, H]          lam;
    vector<lower=0>[P]    s2i;
}
transformed parameters {
    vector[H]    theta;
    vector[P]    s2;
    matrix[P, P] omega;

theta[1] = delta[1];
    for (h in 2:H)
        theta[h] = theta[h-1] * delta[h];

s2 = 1.0 ./ s2i;

omega = diag_matrix(s2) + lam * lam';
}
model {
    vector[P] zero;
    for (p in 1:P)
        zero[p] = 0.0;

a1 ~ gamma(2.0, 1.0);

a2 ~ gamma(2.0, 1.0);

delta[1] ~ gamma(a1, 1.0);
    for (h in 2:H)
        delta[h] ~ gamma(a2, 1.0);

for (h in 1:H)
            phi[p, h] ~ gamma(3.0 / 2.0, 3.0 / 2.0);

for (h in 1:H)
            lam[p, h] ~ normal(0.0, 1.0 / phi[p, h] / theta[h]);

s2i[p] ~ gamma(1.0, 0.3);

for (n in 1:N)
        y[n] ~ multi_normal(zero, omega);
}

Are there any obvious issues, aside from missed vectorization opportunities in the distributions ?