Is it possible to solve delay differential equation?

Hi,
I am currently working on parameter inference of ODE models in Stan and was wondering if it is also possible to use delay differential equations in Stan. I know there is no explicit solver for DDE in Stan but is it feasible to implement it manually?

Furthermore, I was wondering if people would consider different Bayesian inference solution if the bulk of one work will be based on time series data and ODE models.

I know that I am in a stan forum but since I am a beginner in the field of Bayesian statistics/inference and I am happy about any advice, I thought I would just ask.

Thanks for your help and advice.

If you can reduce it to an ODE with unknown initial conditions and parameters, then yes. I’m not familiar with DDEs myself—@wds15 should know.

Not sure what you mean by different Bayesian inference solution. Different than MCMC?

Sorry, I am not familiar with these either.

From glancing over wikipedia what DDEs are, I would say that you are very limited in implementing these “manually”. The only case I can think of is whenever you use forcing functions. These forcing functions can be evaluated at any given time point within your ODE functor. However, I am not sure if people would call this a DDE anymore.

Hmm… maybe (really maybe) … you could emulate a DDE by using a nested ODE integration scheme? Should be numerically a nightmare to do and maybe this is non-sense.

1 Like

If you can formulate it such that the delay is an integer number of steps of the time step of a, say, Euler or Heun discretisation, and you don’t need complicated stuff like event handling, discontinuity propagation (e.g. dde23 in MATLAB), then it works OK. It’s numerically similar to an AR model with non-zero coefficients with large time lags.

Historically these were the first implementations of DDE solvers until users need fancy things like discontinuity propagation.