How to declare a variable in model block

Hi, everyone, I am a newbie to Stan, and the following is my code, and I got the error.

data{
int T;
int N;
vector[N] score;
matrix[N, T] A;
matrix[N, T] y;

}
parameters{
real beta;
vector[T] d;

}
model {
for(j in 1:T) {
d[j] ~ gamma(1 ,1);
   for (i in 1:N) {
p[i,j] = A[i,j] *exp(beta* score[i] )*d[j];
y[i,j] ~ poisson((p[i,j]);  
}}
} 

SYNTAX ERROR, MESSAGE(S) FROM PARSER:

Unknown variable in assignment; lhs variable=p.

I tried to declare p in the model block, and still got the error.

model {
matrix[N, T] p;
d[j] ~ gamma(1 ,1);
p[i,j] = A[i,j] *exp(beta* score[i] )*d[j];
y[i,j] ~ poisson((p[i,j]);  
}}

SYNTAX ERROR, MESSAGE(S) FROM PARSER:

variable “matrix” does not exist.

Anyone knows how to fix it?
Thanks!

You are missing a semi-colon after gamma(1,1). Also, it does not work to evaluate the Poisson likelihood at y when y is a matrix. It can only be int or int array. In this case, you probably meant int<lower=0> y[N,T];, although you only need to loop over the first dimension and can evaluate the likelihood T observations at a time. Finally, you should use the poisson_log form of the distribution so as to avoid having to do exp(beta * score[i]), which is prone to overflow.

Hi, bgoodri, Thanks for your help. I revised my code according to your suggestions.

data{
int T;
int N;
vector[N] score;
matrix[N, T] A;
int<lower=0> y[N,T];

}
parameters{
real beta;
vector[T] d;
}
model {
d[j] ~ gamma(1 ,1);
p[i,j] = log(A[i,j]) +beta* score[i] +d[j];
y[i,j] ~ poisson_log((p[i,j]);  
}}
} 

I still got the error that p is the unknown variable.
besides, could you explain more about looping over the first dimension ?

Yes, because p is not declared. You can just do

y[i,j] ~ poisson_log(log(A[i,j]) +beta* score[i] +d[j]);

And you can do one look with

for (i in 1:N)
  y[i] ~ poisson_log(log_A[i, ] + beta * score[i] + d);