High number of divergent transitions in ODE model with explicit constraints

Hi everyone,
This is my first post here on the forum so please let me know if I am missing something or you want me to be more explicit about my problem.

I have used Rstan now for a couple of months now and really enjoy it but I have run into some problems with my ODE model. I am modelling the labelled fraction of two population and how that fraction changes over time.
Now, when I try to infer the posteriors of the parameter I run into either one of the two following problems. Around 1/5 to 1/4 of the post burn-in transitions are divergent or one of the chains gets “trapped” in an area of low probability and all transitions are divergent.

Due to biological constraints I have imposed two contraints such that 0 <= pn-tr_delta <= 1 and 0 <= 2^k * tr_delta*R + ps <= 1 . I have been reading on your old mailinglist and here and I guess that these constraints might be part of the problem.

Since I am quite new to modelling in gerneral and Stan in particular I was wondering if you could help me and point me in the right direction to make my model work.

I am open to any kind of critic and suggestions.

Thanks already for your help

Jonas

Stan_model.stan (3.2 KB)

I have been reading on your old mailinglist and here and I guess that these constraints might be part of the problem.

If you’re bumping up against the edges of these constraints, then they could be a problem. But they might not be.

Have you made pairplots for this? Since you have 8 parameters, this is probly the easiest way to go looking for things. Are the divergent transitions consistent with each other in some way?

Make pairplots and highlight the points that are diverge (like the pairplots in here: Diagnosing Biased Inference with Divergences) and look for patterns is step one.

Something could be going south with the ODE solve that is making the gradient of the log probability very hard to compute.