Constraining Latent Factor model / baysian probabalisic matrix factorization to remove multimodality

Hi!

I am still working with the data from my previous question:

In summary my data is vector Y of Bernoulli variables that are linked to a parameter matrix theta such that P(Y[v]) = Phi(theta[jj[v],ll[v]] + theta[jj[v],ll[v]]) where ll and rr index the item on the right or the left respectively and jj indexes the respondent. In my previous question I was trying to infer a univariate normal distribution for each column of theta.

Now I am making things much harder for myself by attempting to cluster items and respondents using low rank matrix factorization. I am aware of the non-identifiability/multimodality problem, and I am a novice when it comes to solving it, but I am trying anyway. I have been studying Rick Farouniā€™s great posts on identification and Latent factor analysis, and Michael Betancourtā€™s post on identifiability in mixture models.

I first tried ordering the priors on the latent factors, but it was obvious that this was not sufficient. Next, by analogy to the Farouniā€™s approach, I am constraining square block of each factor matrix to be lower triangular with positive diagonals and initializing the chains from the MLE estimate, but different chains are still heading to different modes and Nuts is having trouble.

Is there anything else worth trying or is the model too pathological?
If itā€™s too pathological then I might give Farouniā€™s LF model a shake.
Thanks for your help!

Edit: This morning Iā€™m thinking about the attempt below. My intuition is that 1. constraining both U and W doesnā€™t provide much over just constraining W, and 2. I likely need some constraints on the priors.

My code is below and an Rscript to generate to fit the model on simulated data is attached.simulate_LF.R (2.7 KB)

data{
// number of latent factors
int<lower=1> R;

// number of respondents
int<lower=R-1> J;

// number of rows / responses
int<lower=1> V;