Best way to do prediction on new data? R rstan stanfit

Hi,

I am new to stan, so I’d really appreciate any help. I use R 3.4.1 with rstan (2.14.1).

I have a fitted stan object in R, fitted via rstan::stan. How do I make prediction on new data?

Options so far:

• Include new data in call to ‘stan’ function, like stan reference 2.16.0 page 160. However this requires new data to be available at training time, which is not the case for me. I do not wish to retrain the model when new-data-for-prediction comes since model training takes a while
  • Extract posterior parameter samples into R and do prediction in R with new-data-for-prediction. However this requires me to duplicate the model structure in R
  • Muck around with the “algorithm = 'Fixed_parameter” function in rstan::stan. Doesn’t do what I want, it probably is not meant for this use case?

The user experience I am after is:

• Fit model in R, eg: fit <- stan(…)
  • Make posterior predictions using new data and the posterior parameter samples in fit, eg: new_data_pred_samples <- predict(fit, newdata)
  • then I can get prediction point estimates and bounds from these new_data_pred_samples

Any ideas?
Thanks

2 Likes

This is your best bet if you are using rstan::stan. If you were using the rstanarm or brms packages, there is a posterior_predict method with a newdata argument that does exactly this.

Please note also that, if you coded your model in stan, you can access it in rstan without recoding: here

Thanks everyone. I’ve decided to duplicate model structure in R.

Think the expose_stan_functions functionality seemed promising, but couldn’t find any useful examples of it being used for my use case. Most of the R code I ended up writing were wrapper code that pulls samples from stanfit object and stan-data lists anyway.

It is a shame that rstan doesn’t have posterior_predict method like brms and rstanarm.