Awesome C++

I found this page recently: http://awesomecpp.com/

Some bits I found exciting:

They list a couple of neat testing frameworks as well, but I don’t think they’re likely worth switching to. We might be able to use one of the rapidcheck/quickcheck/autocheck things to do things like our autodiff and distribution tests.

Tagging @Matthijs, @syclik, @Bob_Carpenter

2 Likes

Why is this useful? Most of the time we need access to the same thing in many different places, so this would still require const & references.

Automagic code improvements sound nice, but I have no experience with those. Should this be a long-hanging free fruit, then sure.

Thanks, Sean! I’m going to watch the modern C++ video.

Regarding the pattern matching library, it’s nice that people are trying to get it into the language, but I’m afraid it’s not really worth using for writing a compiler unless it also works well with variant types and recursion. In particular, you want to be able to define functions on ASTs using pattern matching, right? You’d want to express things like

f = match(p,
      FORLOOP(_x, _x, _x), [](std::string name, AST lower, AST upper){std::cout << "We've found a loop over " << name << " from ";
f(lower);
std::cout <<  " to ";
f(upper);
std::cout <<".";},
      INTVAL(_x), [](int n){std::cout << n;},
....)

. I don’t get the impression this library lets you do that, sadly.

I think you would need to specialize their simple_match::customization::tuple_adapter (about halfway down the readme) for destructuring and binding custom types. If we had one AST node class with a field for the actual type of the node, this wouldn’t be too bad. It’d look something like:

f = match(p,
      AST("for", _x, _x, _x), [](auto name, auto lower, auto upper) { ... },
      AST("int", _x), [](int x){...},
)