A big stochastic model in Stan

I’m working with a complex stochastic model that and would like some guidelines on how to tackle it.

1. Model description

The model consists of a set of pdf’s with unknown parameters. The pdf’s are sampled in a controlled way, leading to a bunch of molecules. These molecules are then used to calculate some misture properties that can be compared to some data.

The goal is to sample the pdf’s parameters using stan.

2. Likelihood derivatives

Can HMC handle stochastic likelihoods?

3. External C++ code to calculate likelihood mean

I know there is some guidelines in the documentation, but i couldn’t get my head around it. (i’m not really a programming expert)

Is there a step by step procedure to do this? Or is there anyone that could help me?

I’ve written the model in C++ and is VERY BIG, would be very dificult to translate to the stan language.

appreciate any help.

Do you have a gradient coded in C++ for this very big model?

Actually no. I’m currently using an stochastic optimization algorithm (PSO) for the parameter estimation (MLE)

Hm, well, for HMC you need gradients so one way or another if you want to use HMC you’re going to need to code the gradient of your model.

Well, my model would calculate the mean of a known distribution, the normal for example, and i would let stan handle the gradients. My major concern was the numerical stability, since the mean itself might be random.

Sounds like you want to sample A using your big C++ model and then use Stan to generate B using P(B|A). That’s a procedure you could use and if P(A|B) and P(B|A) are two steps in a valid Gibbs sampler then you might get somewhere. You don’t describe the whole procedure so I can’t tell, but you can certainly use Stan as part of a Gibbs sampler (when you would want to I’m not sure but that’s ok).

Hm, here is some stan code to try to illustrate

data {
//here goes some data
}
parameters {
//some parameters
}
transformed parameters {